karen-watkins

KAREN WATKINS

„Making sense of German for you“

Ich bin als qualifizierte Übersetzerin für die Sprachkombination Deutsch-Englisch (meine Muttersprache) tätig. Ich bin zuverlässig, kundenorientiert und garantiere Ihnen hochwertige Übersetzungen zu fairen Konditionen.

1980 machte ich an der University of London meinen Bachelor (Honours) in Deutsch und Englisch. Während meines Studiums verbrachte ich ein halbes Jahr an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München. Seitdem besuche ich Deutschland regelmäβig. Nach über 25 Jahren als Schullehrerin habe ich 2008 einen Karrierenwechsel gewagt. Zwei Jahre später habe ich die Qualifikation Diploma in Translation erworben, und 2011 habe ich mich freiberuflich gemacht. Ich bin jetzt Mitglied des britischen Chartered Institute of Linguists und Associate des Übersetzer- und Dolmetscherverbandes, Institute of Translation and Interpreting.

Textsorten

Ich übersetze ausschlieβlich vom Deutschen ins Englische (nie umgekehrt!) und bearbeite Texte aller Art, z.B. Schulungsunterlagen, Produktliteratur, Broschüren, Reiseführer, Webseiten, Magazinartikel und Pressemitteilungen.

Fachgebiete

Ich bin auf die Übersetzung von Marketingmaterial in verschiedenen Bereichen spezialisiert, insbesondere Texte der Tourismus-Branche. Zu meinen Endkunden zählen PR Newswire, ARCOTEL, Sofitel and Leonardo Hotels, WCC Bonn, Bayer Healthcare und Sutton Verlag.

Qualitätsanspruch

Die Qualität meiner Übersetzungen hat oberste Priorität und ich halte mich an den ITI-Verhaltenskodex.

Ausgewählte Projekte:

  • Pressemitteilungen für eine weltweit führende Nachrichtenagentur
  • Kundenzufriedenheitsumfrage für ein deutsches Metallverarbeitungsunternehmen
  • Powerpoint Präsentationen für ein führendes Fernsehvermarktungsunternehmen
  • HR-Unterlagen (interne Memos, Newsletter, Mitarbeitergesprächsformulare) für ein schweizerisches Pharmaunternehmen
  • Produktkatalog für einen führenden Anbieter von Luxustextilien
  • Interviews und Artikel für ein internationales Sport-Marketingunternehmen
  • Webseite eines 5-Sterne Spa- und Golfhotels in Bayern
  • Reiseführer für Düsseldorf, Kiel und das Neanderland
  • Broschüren zu verschiedenen Touristenattraktionen in Stuttgart, Berlin und Tirol
  • Menü für die Webseite einer Brasserie in Saarbrücken

„I wanted to let you know that you’ve received great feedback from the proofreader who says you’ve done an excellent job. Thank you once again for your professional approach and for helping me out with this task.“ (Oana Todorut, Project Manager, Lingo24)

*

„Karen has done a very good job again. Her style is excellent.“ (Ruth, Proofreader, Lingo24)

*

„Karen did a very good job again. Where Karen really scores is in her creative ability – her translation creates a really good impression.“ (Proofreader, Lingo24)

*

„Vielen Dank, Frau Watkins, für die sehr gute Übersetzung. Wir waren mit Ihrer Arbeit sehr zufrieden.“ (Carmen Krüeger, Eloquia.de)

*

„Ich möchte mich an dieser Stelle einfach mal für Ihre gute Arbeit und Ihre Zuverlässigkeit bedanken, mit der Sie uns in den letzten Wochen groβe Freude bereitet haben. Danke schön.;)“ (Alexander Ideler, Project Manager, Easytrans24.com)

Obwohl das maschinelle Übersetzen immer besser wird, hat es Grenzen. Nur menschliche Übersetzer können Texte produzieren, die nicht nur inhaltlich korrekt sondern auch sprachlich geschliffen sind. Bei Texten, die für Marketingzwecke bestimmt sind, ist also eine automatische ‘Lösung’ nicht zu empfehlen und könnte auch Ihrem Image Schaden zufügen. Für maximale Wirkung soll sich der Zieltext keineswegs “fremdländisch” anhören. Genau hier setze ich an!

Bestellen Sie zum ersten Mal eine Übersetzung? Dann sollten Sie die ITI-Broschüre zu diesem Thema lesen:

 

‘Übersetzung – keine Glückssache’

Angebot

Senden Sie mir Ihr (vorzugsweise editierbares) Dokument und ich lasse Ihnen innerhalb von 24 Stunden ein unverbindliches Festpreisangebot zukommen, basierend auf der Wortzahl des Ausgangstextes. Wenn das Dokument nur in Papierform oder als PDF-Datei vorliegt, erstelle ich einen vorläufigen Kostenvoranschlag und errechne den endgültigen Preis auf der Basis der Wortzahl des englischen Zieltextes.

Besondere Anweisungen

Wir vereinbaren einen Abgabetermin (mein normales Pensum liegt bei 1500-1800 Wörtern pro Tag!). Sie geben auch bitte an, wo Ihr Text erscheint und für welche Zielgruppe er bestimmt ist. Wenn Sie eine Webseite, ein internes Glossar oder Bildmaterial zum Text haben, wäre das auch alles nützlich, bevor ich mit der Übersetzung anfange.

Übersetzung

Ich lasse Ihnen die fertiggestellte Übersetzung vor oder zum vereinbarten Termin zukommen. Wenn Sie damit völlig zufrieden sind, schicke ich Ihnen eine Rechnung. Die Zahlung hat innerhalb von 30 Tagen ab Rechnungsdatum per Paypal oder Banküberweisung zu erfolgen. Für alle Aufträge gelten die Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen von ITI.

  • Übersetzungen werden üblicherweise nach Wortzahl im (deutschen) Ausgangstextes abgerechnet
  • Der Endpreis liegt bei EUR 0.09 pro Wort
  • Der Min­dest­auf­trags­wert liegt bei EUR 25.00 für Texte mit weniger als 250 Wörtern

Telefon: +44 (0)1582 699898

German to English Translations

karen-watkins

KAREN WATKINS

“Making sense of German for you”

About

I am a fully qualified freelance translator working from German into my native English. I pride myself on high-level language skills and a professional approach to all tasks, however small.

I graduated from London University in 1980 with a BA (Hons) in German. During my degree course I spent half a year studying at the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität in Munich and have been a regular visitor to Germany since then. After teaching for many years, I decided on a career change in 2008, gaining a post-graduate Diploma in Translation two years later before going freelance. I am a member of the Chartered Institute of Linguists and an Associate of the Institute of Translation and Interpreting.

What I Do

Documents

I work from German to English (never the other way!) and translate texts of all kinds, including brochures, web content, training materials, product literature, press releases, magazine articles and guidebooks.

Specialisms

I specialise in the translation of marketing texts for a variety of sectors, but with a particular focus on work for the German, Swiss and Austrian tourist industries. End clients have included PR Newswire, ARCOTEL hotels, WCC Bonn, Bayer Healthcare, Sofitel, Sutton Verlag and Leonardo Hotels.

Standards

I am committed to the highest standards and abide by the ITI’s Code of Professional Conduct. Full details are available here.

Portfolio

Recent assignments include:

  • Press releases for a major global commercial news distributor
  • Customer satisfaction survey for a large German steel processing company
  • Powerpoint presentations for one of Germany’s leading TV sales companies
  • Staff survey for a leading European market research institute
  • HR materials (internal memos, newsletters and performance management questionnaires) for a Swiss biopharmaceuticals company
  • Product catalogue for a leading producer of luxury terry goods
  • Interviews and articles for a leading Swiss sports marketing company
  • Website of a leading European manufacturer of drinks bottle closures
  • Website of a 5-star golf and spa hotel in Bavaria
  • Guidebooks on Düsseldorf, Kiel and the Neanderland area
  • Leaflets on tourist attractions in Stuttgart, Berlin and Tyrol
  • Menu for the website of a Saarbrücken brasserie

Testimonials

“I wanted to let you know that you’ve received great feedback from the proofreader who says you’ve done an excellent job. Thank you once again for your professional approach and for helping me out with this task.” (Oana Todorut, Project Manager, Lingo24)

*

“Karen has done a very good job again. Her style is excellent.” (Ruth, Proofreader, Lingo24)

*

“Karen did a very good job again. Where Karen really scores is in her creative ability – her translation creates a really good impression.” (Proofreader, Lingo24)

*

“Vielen Dank, Frau Watkins, für die sehr gute Übersetzung. Wir waren mit Ihrer Arbeit sehr zufrieden.” (Carmen Krüeger, Eloquia.de)

*

“Ich möchte mich an dieser Stelle einfach mal für Ihre gute Arbeit und Ihre Zuverlässigkeit bedanken, mit der Sie uns in den letzten Wochen groβe Freude bereitet haben. Danke schön.;)” (Alexander Ideler, Project Manager, Easytrans24.com)

Why Use A Translator?

Although the quality of automatic translation has improved greatly in recent years, relying on it to produce accurate, stylistically polished results is still a risky business. No text to be used for commercial purposes should read like a translation – for maximum impact it needs to sound “native”… which is where I come in!

If you have never bought a translation before, you may find this guide useful. Take a few minutes to read it through…

 

‘Getting it Right’ guide

How It Works

Quote

You send me a (preferably editable) copy of the text to be translated and within 24 hours I will get back to you with a quote, based on the number of words in your original document. If you only have a paper document or a pdf file, I will give you an estimate and base the final price on the target (English) word count.

Brief

You tell me when you need the work (bearing in mind that I can produce on average 1500-1800 words a day), where the text will appear and who your target audience is. If you have a website, glossary of preferred terms and/or any relevant pictorial material, it would be useful for me to have these before starting work.

Translation

I complete the translation and return the fully proofread end product to you on or before the agreed deadline. I will then invoice within 7 days of completion and request payment by PayPal or bank transfer within 30 days. My terms of business are those recommended by the Institute of Translation & Interpreting. For full details click here.

Tariffs

  • In most cases I quote on the basis of the number of words in the original (German) text.
  • I charge GBP 0.08 per source word for a fully proofread English translation.
  • I have a minimum charge of GBP 30.00 for texts of fewer than 250 words.

Contact

Telephone: +44 (0)1582 699898